Procrastination took over

colorful bettyboop
Now that I have my ADHD (more or less) under control, who am I?
I’m not that girl who was always late; who forgot appointments; who was anxious and overwhelmed most of the time; who worried about when she’d shove her foot in her mouth or, you know – all that stuff.
But without my per-diagnosis self, the one I lived with for nearly 47 years, I’m not quite sure who this new person is.
Is my life better since ADHD diagnosis and treatment? Oh yes. Definitely, yes.
I’m still me. But I’m a different me.
Now that I have my ADHD (more or less) under control, who am I?
I’m not that girl who was always late; who forgot appointments; who was anxious and overwhelmed most of the time; who worried about when she’d shove her foot in her mouth or, you know – all that stuff.
But without my per-diagnosis self, the one I lived with for nearly 47 years, I’m not quite sure who this new person is.
Is my life better since ADHD diagnosis and treatment? Oh yes. Definitely, yes.
I’m still me. But I’m a different me, a me that is now unemployed. And here are some reasons why.

My ADHD traits
– having no clear deadline, procrastination took over
– acute difficulties prioritizing
– problems assessing a project
– disorganization; I spent hours hunting for everything and anything .
– unfocused and distracted by conversations; being too friendly, chatty, and personable rather than professional and focused on business (that ‘ol ADHD charm)
– anxiety lives inside every pour in my body. Why is that?
– self-doubt, lack of confidence added to my anxiety and led to avoidance of the work
– lack of self-awareness – I felt incompetent and lost sight of my true skills and value
– ended up completely overwhelmed by my workload, exacerbated by the situations beyond my control (mom’s illness, etc.) and inability to manage time to make room for finishing the project
– overestimated my abilities and underestimated the effects of my ADHD traits

Oh yes did I mention that I am having a midlife crisis and drinking bipolar.
http://psychcentral.com/addquiz.htm

dosed

3 responses to “Procrastination took over

  1. well at least you get a chance to get to know someone new! You! I am sure that once you get use to the new you, things will feel “normal”. I am glad that you got some treatment for the ADHD, it should help life to be a lot easier to handle. Take care sweety! xx

    Like

    • I just wanted to say hello to you and also to wish you a Merry Christmas. Your emails and support has helped me alot this year. I seem to be coming back to myself( whatever that is.. I am just feeling better) And yes, maybe this was a good this ADHD, the medication along with the bipolar meds are allowing me to focus . In other words it feels as if my brain has been tossed into the washer. Hugs T

      Like

Leave a Reply

